Home » Uncategorized » Book Review: As Life Goes – Elementary

Book Review: As Life Goes – Elementary

51GwmPs2o9L__SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

Jason Zandri’s novel, As Life Goes – Elementary, whisked me away into blissful nostalgia with words that remind me of my own father.  This novel, endearing and wise, is a must read.

Zandri details the life lived of a father and son who face adversity hand in hand, soul to soul, and with a priceless conviction of truth and honesty.  Mark Sanford, Mathew’s father, picks up the pieces left from his wife leaving him and their son with an honor and dignity that makes you fall in love with him; both as a father and as a man.  Woven so perfectly throughout the pages, and throughout his life, are words of wisdom so poignant that at times I highlighted them, to make sure I could recall them for myself as a mother.  Not only does Zandri create a character who overcomes adversity with sheer will power, but he adds compassion, wisdom, and enlightenment.  I found myself cheering Mark on in the early pages as he begins to create a new life for himself and his son, Mathew.

Add in a beautiful younger woman, Diane, in need of work but more so, in need of a hero, and her little sister and mother and you embark on several relationships that blossom and bloom in glorious new colors.  Jason’s novel couples coming of age, love story, parenting, and insight  with genuine, real life inspiration and as the relationships ebb and flow through travesty, hope, and trust one cannot help but want to read more.

Growing up, and even now into my forties, my father has always bestowed pearls of wisdom unto me.  It has been and always will be one of my greatest blessings, to have a father whose words guide and support.  Zandi’s novel made me pick up the phone and call my father after having finished reading it, just to remind him of how much I love him.

If you want a book that eloquently reminds you of what it means to lead an honorable life, without being preachy, this is it.  You will fall in love with all the characters, each in a different stage in life, and even have some amazing life lesson take-aways.

For so many reasons, this novel is a treasure.   Five stars.

Get your copy NOW!

Leave a Reply

