Home » Uncategorized » The Power of the Pen

The Power of the Pen

CF 1During my radio interview last night with Vicki Drane Speaks on Artist First Vicki asks me how difficult it was to put so much of my own self out into the world through Restitution.  I responded with,

“The day Restitution went live on amazon I literally felt like I’d taken off all my clothes and walked naked into the streets for all to see.  It was a moment of feeling so extremely vulnerable that I simply fell to my knees and cried out to God, “Let this not be in vain.”  To tell our stories, to be so authentic with our truth – it’s never easy.  We’re trained, as a society, to keep the ugly hidden.  We put on airs that all is well and we secretly fight demons in our sleep, and for a lot of us, in our awake.  We pretend that we’re fine.  We pretend that our experiences didn’t shape us or change us.  We lie.  We keep quiet.   So, yes, putting Restitution out into the world was deathly frightening.  But I didn’t worry as much about what people would think …. what I worried about more was being able to be there for every single person that read it and thought, “Me too.  How do I survive?”  Restitution, for me, isn’t just a novel you can download for $2.99 on Kindle.  It’s a movement.  It’s a voice.  It requires that I walk in humility, truth, and exposure.  But, I’m willing to go there.   I’m willing to be the voice long enough until others harness the courage to speak for themselves.”

Try Restitution.  Just give it a chance, and maybe  you’ll discover that the secrets and the story within you has been begging to come out too.  You have purpose.  Your voice counts!

 

 

Leave a Reply

