Home » Uncategorized » Nothing is the Same

Nothing is the Same

His shadow cast against the wall, that early morning hour;

after I’d been up all night to watch him sleep,

believing in a greater power.

One that would go with him, as he walked right into war;

and one that’d stay here with me, so I’d remember what he was fighting for.

And I cried out in silence, praying, “God, keep me upright”

as his lips went to my lips that last time,

he whispered, “We’re both gonna fight.”

I may have walked away with my head held high that day,

but the truth is, a little piece of me died in a way;

The strength of a woman is measured in her will;

but today, today I just need to say;

I can’t get that last moment out of my head,

that last kiss, that last touch,

those last loving words you said.

I reach for you; and the loneliness is too much.

My soldier, my best friend, my soul-mate;

missing you is more than I can take.

I know, you said, “Baby, be strong,”

and you’re believing and counting on me,

But today; today just felt wrong,

You’re fighting so that we can be free;

But I’m selfish; and I can’t be this strong for this long.

So I’m going to cry and let loose the pain,

if but for a day, lettin’ myself be okay with feelin’ this way;

and I’m going to remember, that last touch;

that last kiss,

that last morning

in your moonlit shadow

before you went away;

I’m going to hold our babies,

and we’ll shed our tears;

but in the crying and the missing

throughout this whole year,

I’ll remember.

The last kiss.

The last touch.

That last morning.

Before we said goodbye.

Your shadow still casts against the wall, this early morning hour;

after I’d been up all night not able to sleep,

believing in a greater power.

One that would be with you, as you’re in the middle of a war;

and one that will be here with me, so I’ll remember what you’re fighting for.

I still cry out in silence, praying, “God, keep me upright”

as I wake without you one more time,

Your whisper lingers, “We’re both gonna fight.”

I may have walked away with my head held high that day,

but the truth is, a little piece of me died in a way;

The strength of a woman is measured in her will;

but today, today I just need to say;

Baby I love you,

I miss you.

Nothing is the same.

Leave a Reply

