Home » Inspiration In Plain Sight » Until I Knew

Until I Knew

cropped-head-shot.jpg

 

 

 

I never knew a laughter that could bend me silly.

I never tasted a fulfillment that could make me lick my lips.

I never came across my own shadow and played hide and seek just for fun.

I never talked out loud and learned something.

I never sang until my throat dried.

I never knew peace in silence.

I never knew love without expectation.

I never paused long enough to smell the rain.

Until I knew me.

Woman in the Rain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One simple day when I was alone, I unwrapped myself like a child stealing a peek at a present.

At first I laughed … bent over and silly.

Then, I dug in and tore away the layers.

I played with the shadows until they were all found.

I talked out loud until I began to speak truth.

I danced around and sang so loud it made sense.

Then, I grew quiet and found love.

And then it rained.

And now, I know.

6 thoughts on “Until I Knew

  1. I appreciate the long journey you have faithfully trod to fiind the deep simple truths and I admire the courage you show by putting yourself oout others just as you are so they are shown nothing but truth.

Leave a Reply

