Home » Uncategorized » Big Dog = Sturdy Dog Toy!

Big Dog = Sturdy Dog Toy!

Tungsten suits his name well at 95 pounds of sheer muscle and a jaw that could snap my entire body in half if he had the heart to do it.  He doesn’t.  My very large lover of an American/English Bull dog is more a lap dog than my 7 pound Maltese, Hemingway.  However, finding a toy for him has, until now, proven impossible.

photo (3)

Last week I came home from running errands to find Tungsten in his crate, with a sick mess.  The poor baby just looked up and out at me as if to tell me he was sorry and had he not been kenneled he would have gone outside.  Mother-hood, even in dog worlds, carries blame and guilt!  Letting him outside so that I could clean up the kennel, and then cleaning him up, we played for a while so that I could monitor how he was doing.  He seemed fine jumping through the snow and using the bathroom in his usual spots so much so that I was sure he was done.

I let him inside and went to task at the laundry for a few minutes, when later I walked back out from the bathroom to discover … Tungsten had literally exploded all over the house.  There were things I saw that I will not describe, other than to say, my poor two year old Bulldog was SICK.  I was panicked!

I put him back outside to clean the house, which took me nearly two hours, and all the while I’m pondering what he possibly could have gotten into.  We don’t feed him much human food other than just to watch him wait for things until the slobber falls and swings us to laughter.  Our yard is free of anything that could harm him, and he’d been inside for the past few days due to bad weather.  Until.  Until I noticed the last pile downstairs.

With my throat heaving, I realized … Tungsten had eaten his chew toy.  Not just any chew toy.  An ENTIRE 8″ x 2″ long rope chew/tug toy.  Possibly several days earlier.  No wonder.

That being said, we assumed this XL rope toy was finally the answer to our problems with finding our very large, and very strong dog a chew toy.  It wasn’t.   Ironically, my Uncle sent a package just the next day, having not heard this story of our dog, with a chew toy just for Tungsten.

Paracord has saved our dog’s playtime!

Tungsten with his new, sturdy and safe toy!

Tungsten with his new, sturdy and safe toy!

Paracord is, according to WIKI, “ Parachute cord (also paracord or 550 cord) is a lightweight nylon kernmantle rope originally used in the suspension lines of US parachutes duringWorld War II. Once in the field, paratroopers found this cord useful for many other tasks. It is now used as a general purpose utility cord by both military personnel and civilians. This versatile cord was even used by astronauts during STS-82, the second Space Shuttle mission to repair the Hubble Space Telescope.[1]

The braided sheath has a high number of interwoven strands for its size, giving it a relatively smooth texture. The all-nylon construction makes paracord fairly elastic; depending on the application this can be either an asset or a liability.

While the U.S. military has no overall diameter requirements in its specifications, in the field 550 cord typically measures 532 inches (4 mm) in diameter.”

These dog toys are AMAZING.  I typically wouldn’t advertise product, but having a personal experience that nearly sent my dog to the vet with a hundred dollar vet bill over a chew toy, I want to spread the word!  If you have a large dog and find it difficult to purchase toys that are durable and last longer than an hour …. I suggest these toys made by my Uncle!  I don’t post links for product, but just shoot me an email and I’ll connect you to his website!

ravensquillz@gmail.com

To the big dog lover in us all and the toys that keep them alive and happy!  To purchase direct, Aaron is going to be uploading more of these in the very near future, HERE!

Our Paracord dog toy, contact me for your own custom toy!

Our Paracord dog toy, contact me for your own custom toy!

5 thoughts on “Big Dog = Sturdy Dog Toy!

  1. Pingback: Big Dog = Sturdy Dog Toy! | ravensinkwell

  2. That toy sounds amazing! We have an olde english bulldogge, and we have to constanly supervise him with his playthings. Occasionally, we give in and let him bring a stick inside because we know he can eat it and not get sick.

    • I totally can relate to that!!! lol I don’t make these, and I don’t make money on them – literally, my Uncle sent it to me and he made it from his house. lol If you want one, let me know – I’m sure I can get him to make you one and send it! Aren’t bulldogs the best dogs ever??? 🙂 🙂

  3. Pingback: Finding Dog Toys For Aggressive Chewers « Friend of Pets | Friend of Pets

  4. Pingback: Weekly Wag: Homemade Dog Toys and Mind Games | Touch of Home Pet Care

Leave a Reply

